Poetry Wednesday: Patchen

  • I’ve written thousands of words about Kenneth Patchen over the years. Yet I’m drawn to write more, time and time again. I’m not sure exactly why he’s the writer who has the most meaning to me. He’s clearly an immense, once in a generation talent, but that could be said of others I read and admire. Maybe it’s the similarity to in his background, also from a small industrial town ravaged by factory pollution and suburban apathy. Maybe it’s his long term relationship with Miriam, an intense bond so much like my own experience with my own partner. It could be.
Leave a Reply

